Surprise Playhouse

Little Miss turns 4 on June 12th and has begged and hinted for a playhouse the last few months. I was SHOCKED by the cost of a pre-made playhouse especially when I have quite the handy man of a hubby.

I was inspired by Apartment Therapy’s Tea House Playhouse, but dreamed a bit more for what I envisioned as far as play for my kids. I threw Apartment Therapy’s playhouse at my hubby as well as all my ideas and he just went with it- talk about an adventure!

I sent the girls off with my Mom for an entire weekend and we went to building!

20120531-221438.jpg

20120531-221448.jpg

Not even two days later we had Little Miss’s playhouse complete and waiting on her to arrive home.

20120531-222750.jpg

Complete with a mailbox (to write letters to the fairies), a personal garden, sitting areas, chalkboard, mud kitchen, secret path to blackberry briars, walk around porch & private parking places…

20120531-221807.jpg

20120531-221955.jpg

20120531-222041.jpg

So she DID receive her big surprise many weeks in advance, BUT we are enjoying it so very much. Our days either begin or end in their playhouse.

Miss Grace’s birthday is approaching this July and boy do I have a few more backyard birthday surprises in store!

Tuesday Tots

Featured at Tuesday Tots on Growing a Jeweled Rose

11 thoughts on “Surprise Playhouse

  1. This is beyond cool! I loved it so much, I decided to feature it all by itself on Tuesday Tots this week. Be sure and pop over, and link up while your there. Then, ask your husband if he will make one of these for me (forget my kids lol)

    • Hi, Leslie. We did not have plans. We had to guess on everything. One of these days I’d like to offer the plans if my hubby could set some up, until then if you begin with the project I’d be willing to answer any small questions you might have. Thanks!!! I’m sure your 2yo would be in playhouse heaven (:

Leave a Reply

