My Kids & Chores: Questions Answered

I posted the below pictures to my personal FB earlier today and before I knew it my cell was buzzing with texts from friends asking many questions about my kids & chores. What are my suggestions? Are they rewarded with pay? What do your kid’s do by themselves?

Miss Grace, almost 2yrs.

20120531-203200.jpg

Little Miss, almost 4yrs.

20120531-203209.jpg

So I compiled a list of things my girls have helped me with for quite sometime and the newest chores that are now their responsibility.

Typically my girls help me by:
folding wash rags, picking up their rooms, swiffering- that’s a great chore because the regular swiffers can be lowered to kid size by taking out one of the links to the pole, vacuuming with a handheld vacuum (they make a mess, they know to get the handheld) & gathering laundry from each room and carrying it to the laundry room.

I usually help them load the clothes into the dryer, but after today that seems like the perfect job for Miss Grace to do on her own, she loved the independence. It was Little Miss’s first time unloading the dishwasher by herself; I did unload all knives and glass first. She did buck heads with me on doing this chore by herself, but eventually did it willingly. I think that will be a daily chore for her from now on!

I do not reward my children for chores with surprises or pay. I do not want my kids growing up thinking every time they complete a responsibility there will be a materialistic reward. Instead I reward them with excessive praise. I’m kinda like their personal cheerleader 😉

What does you children’s chore list look like?

Leave a Reply

