Sand Playdough

20120612-114208.jpg

I took the playdough pledge hosted by NurtureStore, The Imagination Tree and Sun Hats and Wellie Boots.

As soon as I saw this pledge I knew I wanted to make sand playdough from all the leftovers from Little Miss’ mermaid party that we had on Saturday.

I found an easy, no cook recipe from 2 Big, 2 Little.

Sand Playdough
4 cups play sand
3 cup flour
1 1/4 cup water
1/4 cup oil

Mix all ingredients and knead together till the dough forms. If its too dry add a bit more water and if it’s too wet add more sand or flour. This batch made plenty for both of my girls.

20120612-115247.jpg

I provided the girls with many seashells, starfish, sand dollars, buckets, mini umbrellas and ribbon. They loved these options for play.

20120612-115714.jpg

Sand playdough is such a neat sensory experience. It’s gritty and sandy, but still the consistency of regular playdough. It’s certainly heavier than regular playdough though, which brought a bit of a cool change from regular playdough in Little Miss’s eyes.

20120612-115821.jpg

20120612-115903.jpg

The girls played for TWO hours straight with this playdough. I can’t even get regular playdough play to last more than 20 minutes! In fact, the sand playdough is STILL spread out on the table because they aren’t ready for me to put it away quite yet.

Hands down our MOST FAVORITE playdough play by far!

Tuesday Totsabc button

6 thoughts on “Sand Playdough

  1. We did this this week and my son loves it! Looks like your kids had a blast too. I haven’t put our post up yet, if its alright I was thinking of sharing a link or 2 on how other kids play with their sand playdough at the bottom of my post. Can I add a link for you? – frogs and snails and puppy dog tails

  2. Isn’t this just the greatest feeling playdough 🙂 I just love the texture of it. My girls played with it for quite awhile and have asked to get it out a few more times since the day we made it

  3. Hi! Stopping by from Triple T Mum. Love this activity. I am featuring this post on my Kid’s Co-op Showcase, published on Thursday. I am also pinning this to Kids Co-op Pinterest Board. Thanks for linking up to the Kids Co-op!

Leave a Reply

