Story Wands

I have seen these awesome story wands on Lakeshore Learning in the past and thought they were so cool and a must have for homeschool, but then I discovered homemade story wands by Measured in Moments and I just had to get started on our very own.

20120904-092744.jpg

The questions on our wands include:
What was the problem?
What is the story about?
Who are the characters in the story?
What was your favorite part?
How did the story end?
Where was the setting?

20120904-093227.jpg

We haven’t used these yet, but I’m sure Little Miss will love answering the story wand questions. This after reading activity will be great for me to see what she needs to work on while reading a book… listening, problem solving, comprehension, etc. or to use just discussing another fun book. I’m very excited to use these!

2 thoughts on “Story Wands

  1. We have made similar story wands. I also did math starters by placing numbers 1 – 10….depending on the story I pull out the set if numbers then for example say “can find 3 circles” then find the number wand that matches. My kids also love story starters with themes and we each pick one or pick one for each other to tell a story. I have themes for the holidays, sports, history ect….
    Blank wands are fun to create a new starter…..

Leave a Reply

